iPhone · Budget
One category. One page. Compare 4 products without opening a separate review for each.
This roundup is a research preview, not hands-on testing or a completed assessment. Product inclusion is not a recommendation. The table cites manufacturer specs and labeled price references; independent performance, current purchase value, and pros and cons have not been assessed.
Compare the specs
Specs checked November 1, 2026. Rows are ordered by general buying importance, not a universal ranking. Cost is a US USD reference before tax, trade-in, financing, or plan charges; conditional offers and launch prices are labeled. Storage and condition affect cost. Manufacturer battery claims use different test methods and are not directly comparable; mAh is capacity, not endurance. Chip names and megapixels do not establish real-world performance or camera quality. Unverified fields are explicitly marked. No buying verdicts or independent benchmarks yet.
Scroll horizontally to compare models. Priorities run from top to bottom; product order is not a ranking.
| Buying priority | Apple iPhone 15 | Apple iPhone 16 | Apple iPhone 17 | Apple iPhone 17e |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Cost · US price reference | Current new / used / refurbished prices not verified. Compare condition, battery health and warranty separately. | $799 advertised starting price · 128GB · new; includes $30 carrier-activation discount. Used/refurbished prices unverified. | $899 advertised starting price · 256GB · new; includes $30 carrier-activation discount. Used/refurbished prices unverified. | $699 starting advertised purchase price · 256GB · new. |
| 2. Battery · manufacturer claim / capacity | Up to 20h video playback when new (Apple claim); used battery health affects endurance. | Up to 22h video playback when new (Apple claim). | Up to 30h video playback (Apple claim). | Up to 26h video playback (Apple claim). |
| 3. Rear cameras · flexibility | 48MP main + 12MP ultrawide; 2× sensor-crop option, no dedicated telephoto. | 48MP main + 12MP ultrawide; 2× sensor-crop option, no dedicated telephoto. | 48MP main + 48MP ultrawide; 2× sensor-crop option, no dedicated telephoto. | 48MP main only; 2× sensor-crop option. No ultrawide or dedicated telephoto. |
| 4. Screen · size & refresh | 6.1″ OLED; refresh rate not stated in cited Apple specs. | 6.1″ OLED; refresh rate not stated in cited Apple specs. | 6.3″ OLED; adaptive up to 120Hz. | 6.1″ OLED; refresh rate not stated in cited Apple specs. |
| 5. Performance · chipset, not a benchmark | A16 Bionic · 6-core CPU / 5-core GPU. | A18 · 6-core CPU / 5-core GPU. | A19 · 6-core CPU / 5-core GPU. | A19 · 6-core CPU / 4-core GPU. |
| 6. Weight · portability | 171g. | 170g. | 177g. | 169g. |
| 7. Storage & memory | 128GB / 256GB / 512GB; RAM not specified by Apple. | 128GB / 256GB / 512GB (original spec options); current availability varies. | 256GB / 512GB; RAM not specified by Apple. | 256GB / 512GB; RAM not specified by Apple. |
| 8. Charging · manufacturer claim | Up to 50% in ~30 min with 20W+ adapter; MagSafe up to 15W. Accessories extra. | Up to 50% in ~30 min with 20W+ adapter; MagSafe up to 25W. Accessories extra. | Up to 50% in 20 min with 40W+ wired adapter; MagSafe up to 25W. Accessories extra. | Up to 50% in 30 min with 20W+ wired adapter; MagSafe up to 15W. Accessories extra. |
| 9. Software support · manufacturer policy | Update end date not established in cited specs; check current iOS compatibility. | Update end date not established in cited specs; check current iOS compatibility. | Update end date not established in cited specs; check current iOS compatibility. | Update end date not established in cited specs; check current iOS compatibility. |
| 10. Durability / ownership caveat | IP68 when new; used/refurbished seals and repair history need checking. | IP68 when new; used/refurbished condition and repair history matter. | IP68 lab rating; repair costs unassessed. | IP68 lab rating; repair costs unassessed. |
| 11. SIM / carrier compatibility | US: dual eSIM; no physical SIM. Confirm carrier support. | US: dual eSIM; no physical SIM. Confirm carrier support. | US: dual eSIM; no physical SIM. Confirm carrier support. | US: dual eSIM; no physical SIM. Confirm carrier support. |
Sources for every model · checked 2026-11-01
- Apple iPhone 15: Apple iPhone 15 technical specifications ↗
- Apple iPhone 16: Apple iPhone 16 technical specifications ↗ · Apple US price references ↗
- Apple iPhone 17: Apple iPhone 17 technical specifications ↗ · Apple US price references ↗
- Apple iPhone 17e: Apple iPhone 17e technical specifications ↗ · Apple US price references ↗
Apple iPhone 15
iPhone · Budget
A planned look at the older iPhone 15 as a budget candidate, especially used or refurbished; current prices are unverified.
Insufficient evidence — pricing and capabilities have not yet been assessed.
- Best for
- Not yet established.
- Main caveat
- This listing is a research preview, not a recommendation.
- Assessed price
- Not assessed.
- Assessment date
- Not yet assessed.
Pros
Not yet verified.
Cons
Not yet verified.
iOS · US model lineup checked · Official manufacturer source ↗. Model identity only; not a specification or price assessment.
What we’re investigating
- Does the actual selling price justify buying an older model?
- How do battery health, warranty, and remaining software support affect value?
- Which camera, display, and software limitations matter versus newer iPhones?
Camera quality, battery endurance, display, sustained performance, thermals, reception, regional carrier and SIM compatibility, software support, accessibility, privacy, repairability, and value at a specified storage capacity and unlocked regional price.
Apple iPhone 16
iPhone · Budget
A planned review of the older standard iPhone as a budget value candidate, comparing new stock with used and refurbished offers.
Insufficient evidence — pricing and capabilities have not yet been assessed.
- Best for
- Not yet established.
- Main caveat
- This listing is a research preview, not a recommendation.
- Assessed price
- Not assessed.
- Assessment date
- Not yet assessed.
Pros
Not yet verified.
Cons
Not yet verified.
iOS · US model lineup checked · Official manufacturer source ↗. Model identity only; not a specification or price assessment.
What we’re investigating
- Is the discount large enough versus newer iPhones?
- What camera, battery, and display differences matter?
- How do condition, battery health, warranty, and storage change the buying decision?
Camera quality, battery endurance, display, sustained performance, thermals, reception, regional carrier and SIM compatibility, software support, accessibility, privacy, repairability, and value at a specified storage capacity and unlocked regional price.
Apple iPhone 17
iPhone · Budget
A planned review of the previous-generation standard iPhone as a budget alternative to newer Pro models; current pricing is unverified.
Insufficient evidence — pricing and capabilities have not yet been assessed.
- Best for
- Not yet established.
- Main caveat
- This listing is a research preview, not a recommendation.
- Assessed price
- Not assessed.
- Assessment date
- Not yet assessed.
Pros
Not yet verified.
Cons
Not yet verified.
iOS · US model lineup checked · Official manufacturer source ↗. Model identity only; not a specification or price assessment.
What we’re investigating
- What savings are available at equivalent storage?
- Which camera, display, and battery trade-offs matter against Pro models?
- Should buyers choose new, used, or refurbished given battery health and warranty differences?
Camera quality, battery endurance, display, sustained performance, thermals, reception, regional carrier and SIM compatibility, software support, accessibility, privacy, repairability, and value at a specified storage capacity and unlocked regional price.
Apple iPhone 17e
iPhone · Budget
A planned review of the lower-priced iPhone option and its compromises versus premium models.
Insufficient evidence — pricing and capabilities have not yet been assessed.
- Best for
- Not yet established.
- Main caveat
- This listing is a research preview, not a recommendation.
- Assessed price
- Not assessed.
- Assessment date
- Not yet assessed.
Pros
Not yet verified.
Cons
Not yet verified.
iOS · US model lineup checked · Official manufacturer source ↗. Model identity only; not a specification or price assessment.
What we’re investigating
- Which camera, display, and charging compromises affect everyday use?
- Is it better value than a discounted older iPhone?
- What are its regional compatibility, repairability, and long-term support trade-offs?
Camera quality, battery endurance, display, sustained performance, thermals, reception, regional carrier and SIM compatibility, software support, accessibility, privacy, repairability, and value at a specified storage capacity and unlocked regional price.
How this roundup works
This is a source-based review roundup, not a claim of hands-on testing. Published assessments cite official documentation for features, compatibility, pricing, and privacy behavior. Verdicts are editorial judgments for the stated buyer, not independently measured accuracy or speed rankings. Listings without an assessment remain research previews. We identify any future hands-on work explicitly.
We compare camera quality, battery endurance, display, sustained performance, thermals, reception, regional carrier and SIM compatibility, software support, accessibility, privacy, repairability, and value at a specified storage capacity and unlocked regional price.
- Recommend: A strong choice for its intended buyer; benefits outweigh drawbacks at the assessed price.
- Neutral: Mixed trade-offs; worth considering only for specific needs or at a better price.
- Not Recommended: Significant drawbacks or better alternatives make it difficult to justify.
Every completed verdict will include its reason, intended buyer, main caveat, assessed price, and assessment date. Missing evidence stays separate from Neutral. We’ll reassess when pricing or evidence changes.